Love’s Melody – Love, Sex & Poetry (Daily Prompt Post – Cupid’s Arrow)

Happy Valentine’s Day – 2013

Love’s Melody – Love, Sex & Poetry
By: Linda A. Long
Tracing the edges
Of a heart
That lay
Between my breasts
And beat
A rhythm
In the melody
Of your name
One note
One beat
My heart sings
In waiting harmony
Of love’s promise
As if lifted
By the memory
Of your face
Through the distance
My heart plays
A bittersweet tune
Stinging of loss
My skin
Rests with the
Scent of roses
As it’s touched
By remembrance
Sadly mourning
Our missed opportunities
And grieving
The chances
We never took
Somehow
My heart
Is still invested
Yet slowly
Trying to sing anew
And find
Its harmonic match
But still
Bleeds your name
The bridge to my heart
Still starts with you
Closing my eyes
To listen
As it sings its song
Sad yet sweet
It tells the tale
Of love and choices
In the sweetest pitch
Love overflows
The container of my heart
And flows
Like a perfect
Blend of voices
Singing
As one
Through my
Sad eyes
And seasoned by
The salt of my tears
Remembering
A better time
When love wasn’t
So complicated
Love plays
Like a violin
On the strings
Softly tugging
At my heart
In the melody
Of your name
Saying
I love you
Today
I will love you
Always
I will never
Forget you
I will
Love You
Always
© 2013 Linda A. Long – All Rights Reserved
Protected by Copyscape DMCA Copyright Protection

Written for the Daily Prompt’s – Cupid’s Arrow  http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/cupids-arrow/

Photo Credit:
The Bleeding Roses, 1930
Salvador Dalí (Spanish, 1904-1989)
The Museum of Modern Art – New York NY

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Linda Long Writes

I'm an aspiring New York Times Best Selling Author who enjoys writing Erotic Poetry and Personal Growth essays. I live at the beach and love the sound of the ocean. I meditate - as best I can 😉 I practice Yoga regularly. I enjoy Vinyasa and Gentle Yoga the best. I love walking and everything outdoors. I pair all of my poetry on my site with Artwork. I prefer Nudes and love the way a sexy painting can complement my words. l am a lover of all things artistic.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,695 other followers

