I Opened My Hand And Let Go – Daily Post Poetry Writing Challenge

I Opened My Hand And Let Go – Daily Post Poetry Writing Challenge
By: Linda A. Long

In opening
My hand
I let go
Of everything
I tried
To hold on to
Too tightly
Reminding myself
Where
I was
What
I overcame
Who
I am now
Changed
Forever
By the wave
That swept
Through my life
Innocently
It started
As a ripple
As one
Decision
Lead to another
And pulled
Me down
To the very
Bottom
Of my soul
To find
Authenticity
For the first time
Traveling down this
Rocky road
To peace
“Stop”
My mind
Shouted
“Go back”
My heart pounded
“This is too hard”
My body wept
“I can’t”
A small little voice
Deep within
Proclaimed
“I must”
Asserted
My soul
Not knowing
Exactly what
I was choosing
Only knowing
Life was forcing
Me to start over
I can’t remember
Consciously
Making the choice
I don’t remember
Saying
“Yes”
I can’t reflect
On the exact
Moment
It happened
It happened
Every day
With every
Choice
Letting go
One day
Holding on
The next
Having faith
Meaningful things
In my life
Will remain
Trusting what is
Rightfully mine
Will return
I opened
My hand
And let go
Finally
I see
The very best
Of me
For the
First time
I accept
I am powerful
Confidently
I stand
With tears
In my eyes
Because I
Finally
Set myself
Free
In knowing myself
I let go
By Trusting
Myself more
Than listening
To the advice
Of others
I finally found
My peace
Because
I let go
Of who
I was
And who
They wanted
Me to be
I timidly
Courageously
Started walking
My road
To peace
Through
The valley of
Of self-love
And
To the mountaintop
Of self-acceptance
I found
Happiness
Within
No longer
Needing
Validation or approval
From others
I pinned my
Happiness
To the beat of
My very own
Heart
Simply
Because
I opened
My hand
And let go
© 2013 Linda A. Long – All Rights ReservedProtected by Copyscape DMCA Copyright Search

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/writing-challenge-starting-over/#more-12992

http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/prompt-138-its-post-your-poems-day/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Linda Long Writes

I'm an aspiring New York Times Best Selling Author who enjoys writing Erotic Poetry and Personal Growth essays. I live at the beach and love the sound of the ocean. I meditate - as best I can 😉 I practice Yoga regularly. I enjoy Vinyasa and Gentle Yoga the best. I love walking and everything outdoors. I pair all of my poetry on my site with Artwork. I prefer Nudes and love the way a sexy painting can complement my words. l am a lover of all things artistic.

12 responses to “I Opened My Hand And Let Go – Daily Post Poetry Writing Challenge”

  1. Joann says :

    This is beautiful Linda!

  2. 1sojournal says :

    This piece unfolds slowly down the page, underlining its message that letting go may take a long time, and is sometimes done in very small increments.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2013/01/15/threads/

  3. Wayne says :

    nicely done…..thanksz for all your words

  4. lista de email says :

    your blog is very simple but i like it because it is very well structured. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

  5. Linda Long Writes says :

    Reblogged this on Linda Long Writes! and commented:

    I wrote this poem earlier this year. I’ve been thinking about it lately. I’ve been reminding myself to keep my hand open so I don’t hold on to tight; reminding myself that it is only by having open hands can I receive goodness and let love flow through me to others. The open hand is also an open heart. It symbolizes that I am open to receiving; I am open to all things that are good for me.

    Are your hands open and ready receive all the goods things you deserve? If not, what can you let go so yours are open and ready to grab hold of something good when it comes your way.
    Remember this basic Law Of Attraction principle.
    Ask.Believe.Receive. Ask the Universe for what you desire. Believe you deserve what you desire. Be ready to Receive what you desire.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,536 other followers

