What is Reiki?

Reiki

Reiki (Photo credit: nexus6)

I received my first Reiki treatment over 10 years ago from a family member who owns a Day Spa in Pennsylvania.  I found the treatment so theraputic that I’ve had the treatments done regularly since. Reiki slows down my thoughts and balances the energy in my Charkas.  Mostly, I feel completely at peace and relaxed after a session.  Nothing hurts. Everything feels good. And, all the nagging aches and pains we have as we get older melts away, at least for a little while.

I received my certification in Reiki Level I in June 2012. I’m practicing and preparing for my Reiki Level II certification in September of 2012. I also plan to get my Reiki Master Certification by the end of this year.

While I am practicing and getting ready for my level II certification, I’ve been offering free 30 and 60 minutes sessions to close family and friends. Once I get my Level II, I will start seeking contract work. Technically I can charge for a session now. But, I feel better offering them for free while I become more comfortable in my new craft. I look forward to obtaining my Master Certification so I can one day teach and share my passion with others.

While I will charge a fee for my professional services in the future, I plan to also offer free community Reiki sessions as way of sharing goodwill and reaching out the members of the community who can’t afford to pay for the service but need the assistance of healing hands and good energy. I also plan to donate my services to local health related organizations to aid chronically and terminally ill people with pain and healing.  That is why it is so important for me to keep myself in good shape mentally, physically and emotionally. Yoga, exercise, meditation and praying are all grounding exercises that balance my energy and help me offer my clients the best possible healing experience.

For those who aren’t familiar with Reiki, per www.reiki.org, “Reiki is a Japanese technique for stress reduction and relaxation that also promotes healing. It is administered by “laying on hands” and is based on the idea that an unseen “life force energy” flows through us and is what causes us to be alive. If one’s “life force energy” is low, then we are more likely to get sick or feel stress, and if it is high, we are more capable of being happy and healthy.”

Below is a short video by Reiki Integrative Health Care http://reikiinmedicine.org/ which also helps to explain the healing benefits of a Reiki Sessions.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Linda Long Writes

I'm an aspiring New York Times Best Selling Author who enjoys writing Erotic Poetry and Personal Growth essays. I live at the beach and love the sound of the ocean. I meditate - as best I can 😉 I practice Yoga regularly. I enjoy Vinyasa and Gentle Yoga the best. I love walking and everything outdoors. I pair all of my poetry on my site with Artwork. I prefer Nudes and love the way a sexy painting can complement my words. l am a lover of all things artistic.

3 responses to “What is Reiki?”

  1. sthomas says :

    I hope more users will get the information that i receive from you..

  2. reiki adelaide says :

    You have written an incredible website.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,698 other followers

